Great British Sewing Bee

Is there any sewers in the Universe that hasn’t yet heard about the “Great British Sewing Bee” TV series/show on BBC2? I  knew about the program reading Tilly’s blog. Tilly is one of the most lovely sewers blogger, that also was a participant of the program. So I am watching the series, that is very well constructed, I love the judges, the presenter, the songs, and of course I am in love with all the participant and their sewing challenge, they are so talented! This morning since I’m again at home coughing for the umpteenth time, I watched the second episode I’ve recorded yesterday night, and I’m so sad that Tilly was the third participant that left the sewing bee. I really liked her blouse.

tilly's-blouse

Tilly blouse on a model

Tilly's blouse back on a model

Tilly’s blouse back on a model

A similar pattern version of the blouse can be purchased here.

Then, would we talk about the fabrics in the program??!! I love the Haberdashery and all the bold and bold of beautiful fabric they could choose from. Lauren   used a beautiful silk fabric on the last episode, and I’m pretty sure that it is from Liberty fabrics, It seems to me to have seen this on the web before while browsing for Liberty fabrics myself.

Lauren and the silk fabric

Lauren and the silk fabric

And I said: “I have it!” when Mark chose this skulls fabric for patches pockets.

Mark and the skulls fabric

Mark and the skulls fabric

my fabric, same design, different background

my fabric, same design, different background

This series helps me to take the courage of drafting my own skirt pattern, just a simply one, but I did it! I drafted an A line skirt with my measures and I’ve already made the muslin. Oh I’m so proud! I can’t wait to finish it, hope to feel better soon to get back my sewing machine. Here is a photo I took to imprint this event, before starting the fabric cutting and sewing.

patternmaking time

patternmaking time

my own pattern and fabrics

my own pattern and fabrics

And just that we are in argument, here is the Marie skirt I sew last year and never took a photo of it.

marie skirt - pattern available for free at Burdastyle site.

marie skirt – pattern available for free at Burdastyle site.

and would we talk about this beautiful sweater? I bet and won the California Vine Sweater on Ebay from Lornalace’s that organized a charity bidding selling out some of the samples made to promoting their yarn.

Lornalaces sweater

Lornalaces sweater and Marie skirt I wore at the office

I’ve also finished my dress for the Laurel sewing contest but I need some helps for the photo boot, I ask to a friend to set a photo shoot and we will meet the next week, since then here is a sneak pic!

my Laurel dress swatch

my Laurel dress swatch

Sorry for the bluried photos in this post, I took them with my Iphone, no chance to use my Nikon lately.

About bubiknits

Mom of one little boy Yarn a holic Knit & Craft designer Button's collector Obsessed knitter Stash builder Vintage lover Not scared of life events - trying to stay sane and healthy, laughing at the sun :)
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great British Sewing Bee

  1. Stephanie says:

    Your Marie skirt is wonderful! It also looks great with the vine sweater. I just started reading Tilly’s blog a little while ago but it has inspired me to take out my sewing machine again after a couple of years in the cupboard – I have a few patterns lined up for summer. I am wondering how you learned pattern drafting? It’s something I’d really like to learn as well. Can’t wait to see your Laurel dress!

  2. Truly Myrtle says:

    I’m enjoying GBSB too – I wish it was longer!!
    Good work on drafting your skirt – and doesn’t the Laurel pattern look fun? I love the look of the layout..l

  3. Stunning! And I love your “skull fabric”. The colours are so bright, just perfect.

  4. Complimenti per la gonna! Anche a me piace molto la camicia di Tilly. Il rosso e il blu sono fantastici. Allora aspetto di vedere la gonna finita!

Leave a Reply

