Inspirations

I can’t stop to say how much SquamItalia was one of the most important and precious experience into my life. It represent a break from 3 years in a row of my working mom -never resting days. 6 month passing by and I feel I need another break, I am feeling  frustrated and sick lately. My son is the most important person to me, but really fighting with a 3-1/2 yo. kid every single day is drives me crazy. The worst part is that I don’t know if I’m doing well, wrong, good, bad… and having a partner that always neglecting on you, and say that you are doing wrong doesn’t help either. The only thing that seems helping me to feel less frustrated is sewing and knitting. I’m an introvert disguised of an extrovert, from adolescence to nowadays I haven’t never followed the mass, people look at me strange, the collegues times to time joke of me I think because I’m not the girly girl that most of the other female collegues are, it is rare you can find me talking of glamour, fashion, lipstick etc. all the time, I like reading of politics, wearing handmade clothes, make and search for news all around the world in the meaning time this is happen, and feeling bad seeing people being sheep when something that is getting old in the other part of the world (read USA – UK – France) get into my poor-minded citizen. That’s why I write my blog in (-my-bad-I-know) English, I do not need follower here in Italy, where on the next five year they will be talking and writing about what We Are talking and making and writing right now.

Anyway, keeping the speak on the subject of this endless and therapeutic post (I’m feeling like I am at the psychologist) , I mentioned SquamItalia because when I’ve got home I discovered that one of the participant was Karyn from Makesomething the owner of a quilt shop in Canada, and also she is one of my favorite and talented sewers and quilters. I love her blog, I really really love those two pieces she made, and I remember I’ve got more than one sight at her bag and skirt at SquamItalia.

birdie sling bag made by Makesomething

simplicity 2215 skirt made by Makesomething

Unfortunately we took different classes at Squam so I I have not had a chance to chat with her. I hope in another Squam before or later here in Europe.
Talking about the skirt and the bag, I purchased the patterns time ago, so I need that fabric! I felt in love with the Nani Iro fabric and I would love to find this specific indigo color, but the main site listed it as sold out. So, if you hear someone that would sell about 2 yd of it, drop me a line.

Have a lovely night! Is about 23:57 here and tomorrow I have to get up early as every day to go to work.

Xo, Giusy.

About bubiknits

Mom of one little boy Yarn a holic Knit & Craft designer Button's collector Obsessed knitter Stash builder Vintage lover Not scared of life events - trying to stay sane and healthy, laughing at the sun :)
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inspirations

  1. Giusy…what you say really resonates with how I feel every day! Being a mom is though and for some reason you are always wondering if you are doing things well… And I’m pretty sure you are! Don’t worry about being different and worrying about politics, economics, etc. I’d rather do that than worry about buying an overpriced bag just to try and sell it 3 weeks later for the latest fashion trend! I dream of a sewing retreat…and I’d love to organize one on lake maggiore😉

  2. Kate says:

    Hello Guisy, thanks for popping by my blog and for your lovely comment about my soay cardigan. I didn’t make the dress, I’ve had it in my wardrobe for a few years and it just happened to look so great with my new knit. Thanks for admiring it! By the way, have you tried Etsy for the NI fabric, Miss Matatabi has it in stock, but a different colour way. Perhaps you may find another stockist on that site though?
    Have a great week,
    Kate x

  3. littleblackdogsa says:

    Hi there,
    I appreciate your blog very much, and like to read what you have to say.
    Yes, sometimes it is difficult, but we are woman, so we are strong. Hang in there, you can and will make it. I was a single mother, and today my daughter is all grown up, has a BA degree in design, and works for an international company.
    One day you will also see your work being successfull, and you will be very happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

